Lark Tasmanian Single Malt Cask Strength

58% alc./vol.
In order to promote a better exchange with wood, Bill Lark, owner of the eponymous distillery, chose to age his whiskeys in small barrels of 50 liters and 100 liters. 50% of barley (Franklin or Gardner) is lightly dried with peat from their own peat bog: Brown Marsh Bog. Finally, he recently gave his daughter, Christy, the role of master distiller.

André 91.5%
Superb nose, hyper fruitiness and an exemplary balance. Nuts and caches, marzipan, oranges, red apples, wild berries, caramel and toffee, almost chocolatey, almond cakes. The palate is fruity and supported by strong spices, the contribution of the oak barrel is clearly visible without stealing the show. Beautiful amalgam of plums and dried fruit, fruit paste and wild fruits, topped with a toffee caramel and milk chocolate a little smoky. When the alcohol evaporated, buxom maple syrups burst forth. The sensation of alcohol is perceptible in the mouth but not to feel a burning effect but rather warming and comforting. The finish is caramelized and chocolatey with a fine line of smoke. Some flavors also remind me of virgin oak. A nice traffic jam that takes us off the beaten track. I would buy a bottle. Really nice stuff as they say.

Patrick 93%
In a few seconds, I understood why Lark has such a great reputation. A superb whiskey, complex and tasty, balanced in a masterful way. I like, I want a full bottle please! Nose: A succulent scent of exotic fruits, sweet vanilla and social tea biscuits. After a few minutes, I feel to discover a touch of grass. Taste: Succulent spices, beautiful dry wood, a subtle fruity note, vanilla and intense caramel for a second, then disappearing quickly. Finish: A superb length, spicy and marked with a discreet grassy touch.

Hellyers Road Original

46.2% alc./vol.

Patrick 80%
Not a bad whiskey, but nothing really trippy either. Nose: Barley, citrus fruits and pears. The set is quite fresh, with a je-ne-sais-quoi reminding me of the smell of a hockey cloakroom, the day after a big tournament. Mouth: Always the hockey locker, with a feeling of sweat on the tongue, with citrus and always a little barley. Final: Dry and short.

Hellyers Road 10 years old Original Tasmanian Single Malt

46% alc./vol.

André 85%
Pear apples, vanilla, lemon cereals. On the palate the texture is interesting, creamy, with notes of almonds, coconut and vanilla cream with a lemon tear. On the other hand, there is something in the finish of mouth that hangs on me a bit, a dry side that slices abruptly with the sweet flavors of the mouth. A mixture of oak and dry spices a little weird. The final imbalanced, and will end with the return of vanilla, pears and cream sprinkled with spices. Not a bad whiskey, but the transitions between chapters are a little lame.

RV 87%
An upside down whiskey from the land down under. No. No. No, it's not a whiskey, but something really appetizing too. Beautiful olfactory depth that flies away quickly, so the haste to taste quickly discovered a whiskey half barley, half ... something mysteriously tasty. Final even more bizarre, charcoal and ash, which concludes well this challenging whiskey but that rewards the taste buds.

Sullivan Cove Cove Cask Finish

60% alc./vol.
Drum #HH0554, 209 bottle #411, distilled November 21 2000 and bottled September 3 2009. Built in 1994, Sullivan's Cove has really started producing in 1995. Shortly after taking over 2003, she moved to Cambridge, a small town not far from Hobart. Since then, its Charentais stills have been put back into operation and produce the equivalent of 120 barrels a year.

André 88%
Patience is the word to remember to fully enjoy this edition cask strenth. Nose very enveloping and silky fully woody decorated with orange, honey, caramel heated / burned and stuck in the pan as well as dark chocolate. The balance is superb and it is of a great magnitude, very sustained in the mouth, being helped by the powerful alcohol. Honey and chocolate soften the whole well that still remains powerful in the mouth where it offers no surprise, the evolution of aromas presented to the nose simply continue their momentum. The finish is a good power, because gradually fading, sweet notes of honey and chocolate give way to the surge of alcohol. A presentation without much evolution but which delivers brilliantly its pleasant simplicity.

RV 81.5%
As a special reserve but not the kind that must be served in a Riedel or Glencairn. From the beginning, a bourbon that olfactively forks very quickly to a Canadian with a little lack of finish, but the more it breathes, the more brown sugar comes out, despite a grain slightly smoked background. The finish is in two tones, spices and sweet hay, to go through a little more fruity plums but everything takes a dramatically disastrous turn in the final, where everything collapses in a disappointing rye. Really not up to the Double Cask, and even if it's not a bad whiskey, the magic is not there, especially in the final.

Patrick 90%
Nose a bit weird burnt barley, To taste, burnt oak and sweet. Brown sugar? A fruity side brings an extra dimension and pleasant. It looks like this whiskey comes out of the barrel! The final, spicy, burnt and sweet complete very well. An excellent whiskey, very balanced and that will please those who, like me, love their whiskey with an authentic woody taste!

Sullivan's Cove Double Cask

40% alc./vol.
Tasmania Distillery & Museum, Australia. This double distillation edition bottled at 40% alcohol is unpeated and matured in ex sherry casks made from French oak and ex-bourbon casks made from American oak.

André 88%
Very soft and without brusquerie on the nose; honey, kiwi sugar and lemon. The mouth is very fluid - like water - and gives a singular taste of wooden splinter that is removed with the teeth. Heat your glass for a few minutes holding it in your hands and let it breathe; the intense dark chocolate that will be revealed is remarkable and very pleasant to deliver the final- unfortunately a little short.

RV 86.5%
Even on the other side of the world we are not too out of place. Grain and honey a little sour, without much development besides the vanilla of the American barrel and even a touch of cognac. Gently grassy arrival and finally the grain and grapes, with more texture than taste. Final really sweet between honey and vanilla, without being too exacerbated. A beautiful French fruit malt stronger than the American grain.

Patrick 93%
Unique nose: grass peat, with a tar wave and a drop of strawberries. Impressive on the palate, a real roller coaster: Firstly salt, then ripe fruit and finally wet cereals. Also, touch of chocolate and vanilla. Incredibly rich in the mouth. So many flavors to discover. If you are looking for the definition of a tasting scotch, to savor quietly in a quiet environment, here it is! A conquest that will always surprise you in the most pleasant way!

Lark Port Cask 5 years old

43% alc./vol.
Before Bill Lark created his distillery, it was 153 years ago that the city of Hobart, located in Tasmania, had no more shelter. Fields of peat, water of great purity, everything is together to produce a very good whiskey here. It was after a particularly successful trout fishing trip that Bill Lark had the idea to start his distillery. His daughter Kristy now succeeds him to the management of the distillery. A still wash still with a capacity of 1 800 liters and a still spirit still with a capacity of 500 liters have been installed. A single cask (LD39) has been voted Best Australian Whiskey.

André 84%
Silky nose highlighted by a nice dose of orange, good notes of cereals, vanilla and a pinch of chocolate. Very round and clean on the nose. The ripening in port cask is very assertive, woody and spicy to perfection, raised toffee and a little smoke. Damage to the final where an off-key spoils the whole, a false note that detonates in this orchestration that seemed to complement each other. Maybe he is still too young a fiery foal for refining in port cask? The richness brought by ripening versus this whiskey from a young age, delivers a contradiction that is difficult to get rid of.

Patrick 81%
Bourbon spices on the nose, can be a little sweeter / fruity on the other hand. On the palate, bourbon spices, but that seems to have been finished in a liqueur with cherry. Intense burned woodland. Final quite long and peppery. Nice balance, interesting, but a little too sweet for my taste.

English EN Français FR

Lark Tasmanian Single Malt Cask Strength

58% alc./vol.
Afin de favoriser un meilleur échange avec le bois, Bill Lark, propriétaire de la distillerie éponyme, a choisi de faire vieillir ses whiskies dans des petits fûts de 50 litres et de 100 litres. 50 % de l’orge (Franklin ou Gardner) est légèrement séchée avec une tourbe qui provient de leur propre tourbière : Brown Marsh Bog. Enfin, il a récemment confié à sa fille, Christy, le rôle de maître-distillateur.

André 91.5%
Superbe nez, hyper fruité et d’un équilibre exemplaire. Noix et cachoux, pâte d’amande, oranges, pommes rouges, petits fruits sauvages, caramel et toffee, presque chocolaté, petits gâteaux aux amandes. La bouche est fruitée et soutenue par de fortes épices, l’apport du fût de chêne est bien en évidence sans voler le show. Bel amalgame de prunes et de fruits séchés, la pâte de fruits et les fruits sauvages, nappé d’une coulée de caramel et de chocolat au lait un peu fumé. Lorsque l’alcool s’est évaporé, émergence de plantureuses notes de sirop d’érable. La sensation de l’alcool est perceptible en bouche mais pas à en ressentir un effet de brûlé mais plutôt réchauffant et réconfortant. La finale est caramélisée et chocolatée avec un fin trait de fumé. Quelques saveurs me rappellent aussi le virgin oak. Un bel embouteillage qui nous amène hors des sentiers battus habituels. J’en achèterais volontiers une bouteille. Du really nice stuff comme on dit.

Patrick 93%
En quelques secondes, j’ai compris pourquoi Lark a une si grande réputation. Un superbe whisky, complexe et savoureux, équilibré de façon magistrale. J’aime, j’en veux une pleine bouteille svp!! Nez : Un succulent parfum de fruits exotiques, de vanille sucrée et de biscuits « social tea ». Après quelques minutes, j’ai l’impression d’y découvrir aussi une touche herbeuse. Bouche : De succulentes épices, du beau bois sec, une note fruitée subtile, de la vanille et un caramel intense pendant une seconde, puis qui disparaît rapidement. Finale : D’une superbe longueur, épicée et marquée d’une touche herbeuse discrète.

Hellyers Road Original

46.2% alc./vol.

Patrick 80%
Pas un mauvais whisky, mais rien de vraiment trippant non plus. Nez : Orge, agrumes et poires. L’ensemble est assez frais, avec un je-ne-sais-quoi me rappelant l’odeur d’un vestiaire de hockey, le lendemain d’un gros tournoi. Bouche : Toujours le vestiaire de hockey, avec un feeling de sueur sur la langue, avec des agrumes et toujours un peu d’orge. Finale : Sèche et courte.

Hellyers Road 10 ans Original Tasmanian Single Malt

46% alc./vol.

André 85%
Pommes poires, vanille, céréales au citron. En bouche la texture est intéressante, crémeuse, avec des notes d’amandes, de noix de coco et de crème vanille avec une larme de citron. Y’a par contre quelque chose en finale de bouche qui m’accroche un peu, un côté asséché qui tranche abruptement avec les douces saveurs de la bouche. Un mélange de chêne et d’épices asséchantes un peu bizarres. La finale déséquilibrée, et se terminera par le retour de la vanille, des poires et de la crème saupoudrée d’épices. Pas un mauvais whisky, mais les transitions entres les chapitres sont un peu boiteuses.

RV 87%
An upside down whisky from the land down under. Non. Non. Non, ce n’est pas un whisky, mais quelque chose de vraiment appétissant aussi. Belle profondeur olfactive qui s’envole vite, donc la hâte de goûter fait rapidement découvrir un whisky mi-orge, mi…quelque chose mystérieusement savoureux. Finale encore plus bizarre, empreinte de fusain et de cendre, qui conclue bien ce whisky challengeant mais qui récompense bien les papilles.

Sullivan’s Cove Port Cask Finish

60% alc./vol.
Fût #HH0554, bouteille #209 de 411, distillé le 21 novembre 2000 et embouteillé le 3 septembre 2009. Construite en 1994, Sullivan’s Cove a réellement commencé de produire en 1995. Peu après son rachat en 2003, elle déménage pour s’installer à Cambridge, petite ville non loin d’Hobart. Depuis, ses alambics charentais ont été remis en activité et produisent l’équivalent de 120 fûts par an.

André 88%
Patience est le mot à retenir afin de savourer pleinement cette édition cask strenth. Nez très enveloppant et soyeux pleinement boisé agrémenté d’orange, de miel, de caramel chauffé/brûlé et collé dans la poêle ainsi que de chocolat noir. L’équilibre est superbe et il est d’une belle ampleur, très soutenu en bouche, étant aidé par le puissant taux d’alcool. Le miel et le chocolat adoucissent passablement l’ensemble qui demeure tout de même puissant en bouche où il n’offre par contre aucune surprise, l’évolution des arômes présentées au nez poursuivent simplement leur lancée. La finale est d’une bonne puissance, car en s’atténuant progressivement, les notes sucrées de miel et de chocolat laissent libre court à la poussée d’alcool. Une présentation sans grande évolution mais qui livre avec brio son agréable simplicité.

RV 81.5%
Comme réserve spéciale mais pas le genre qui doit être obligatoirement servi dans un Riedel ou un Glencairn. Dès le début, un bourbon qui olfactivement bifurque très rapidement vers un canadien avec un peu de manque de finition, mais plus il respire, plus la cassonade ressort, malgré un grain très légèrement fumé en background. L’arrivée est en deux tons, les épices et le foin sucré, pour passer par des prunes un peu plus fruitées mais le tout prend une tournure dramatiquement désastreuse en finale, où tout s’effondre dans un rye décevant. Vraiment pas à la hauteur du Double Cask, et même si ce n’est pas un mauvais whisky, la magie n’y est pas, surtout en finale.

Patrick 90%
Nez un peu bizarre d’orge brûlée, Au goût, chêne brûlé et sucré. Cassonade ? Un côté fruité apporte une dimension supplémentaire et agréable. On dirait que ce whisky sort directement du fût ! La finale, épicée, brûlée et sucrée complète très bien le tout. Un excellent whisky, très équilibré et qui saura plaire à ceux qui, comme moi, aiment leur whisky avec un goût boisé authentique !

Sullivan’s Cove Double Cask

40% alc./vol.
Tasmania Distillery & Museum, Australie. Cette édition à double distillation embouteillée à 40% d’alcool est non tourbée et mûrie dans d’ex fûts de Xérès en chêne français ainsi que d’ex fûts de bourbon en chêne américain.

André 88%
Très doux et sans brusquerie au nez; miel, kiwi sucre et citron. La bouche est très fluide – comme de l’eau – et livre un goût singulier d’écharde de bois que l’on enlève avec les dents. Chauffez votre verre quelques minutes en tenant celui-ci entre vos deux mains et laissez respirer; le chocolat noir très intense qui se révèlera est remarquable et très agréable pour livrer la finale- malheureusement un peu courte.

RV 86.5%
Même à l’autre bout du monde on est pas trop dépaysé. Grain et miel un peu aigre, sans grand développement outre la vanille du baril americain et ne serait-ce qu’une touche de cognac. Arrivée doucement herbeuse et enfin le grain et le raisin, avec plus de texture que de goût. Finale vraiment sucrée entre miel et vanille, sans être trop exacerbée. Un beau malt de fruits français plus fort que le grain américain.

Patrick 93%
Nez unique : tourbe de gazon, avec une onde de goudron et une goutte de fraises des champs. Impressionnant en bouche, une vraie montagne russe : Tout d’abord le sel, puis les fruits mûrs et enfin des céréales mouillées. Aussi, touche de chocolat et de vanille. Incroyablement riche en bouche. Tellement de saveurs à découvrir. Si vous cherchez la définition d’un scotch de dégustation, à savourer tranquillement dans un environnement tranquille, la voici ! Une conquête qui saura toujours vous surprendre de la plus agréable des manières !

Lark Port Cask 5 ans

43% alc./vol.
Avant que Bill Lark ne crée sa distillerie, cela faisait 153 ans que la ville d’Hobart, située en Tasmanie, n’en avait plus abrité. Des champs de tourbe, une eau d’une grande pureté, tout est réuni pour que l’on produise ici un très bon whisky. C’est au terme d’une partie de pêche à la truite particulièrement fructueuse que Bill Lark eut l’idée de fonder sa distillerie. Sa fille Kristy lui succède désormais à la direction de la distillerie. Un alambic wash still d’une capacité de 1 800 litres et un alambic spirit still d’une capacité de 500 litres ont donc été installés. Un single cask (LD39) vient dí’être élu meilleur whisky australien.

André 84%
Nez soyeux souligné d’une belle dose d’orange, de bonnes notes de céréales, de vanille et d’une pincée de chocolat. Très rond et clean au nez. L’affinage en port cask est très affirmé, boisé et épicé à souhait, relevé de toffee et d’un peu de fumée. Dommage pour la finale où un off-key vient gâcher l’ensemble, une fausse note qui détonne dans cette orchestration qui semblait bien se compléter mutuellement. Peut-être est-il encore un trop jeune poulain fougueux pour l’affinage en port cask? La richesse apportée par l’affinage versus ce whisky de si jeune âge, livre une contradiction dont il est difficile de se départir.

Patrick 81%
Épices de bourbon au nez, peut être un peu plus sucré/fruité par contre. En bouche, épices de bourbon, mais qui semble avoir été fini dans un fut de liqueur à la cerise. Boisé brûlé intense. Finale assez longue et poivrée. Bel équilibre, intéressant, mais un peu trop sucré à mon goût.

English EN Français FR