Hammer Head 21 years Czech Vintage Single Cask

40.7% alc./vol.
Hammer Head is a Czech Single Malt produced in 1989, just before the fall of the Berlin Wall, which has forever changed the face of Europe. Produced at the Pradlo distillery in western Czechoslovakia, Hammer Head is the only single malt produced in Bohemia. Discovered by accident just a year ago by its new owners, it was designed at the time from a local barley and aged exclusively in Czech oak barrels.

André 82%
Hardwood white, vanilla, cherries and pears. The mouth is very grassy; lawn mower bag filled with freshly cut lawn. After breathing it is more spices and cheap honey that come in the mouth. The wood takes its place in the final, making everything very rectilinear and one-dimensional. Developed in a cloudy time in the eastern countries, with probably limited means, an amazing and historic traffic jam.

RV 80.5%
A dessert that barely lacks character but which compensates for the excess. Bourbon a little vinegary and dead leaves on the nose, with a little cherry present at the opening but which expresses itself strongly once arrived, accompanied by an artificial vanilla. In the mouth it is still sweet, almost too much, with a viscous texture but a good attack of alcohol. The final is also too sweet but concludes suitably. Unfortunately, the aftertaste suffers from the same problem of syrup too strong, which makes the experience more or less pleasant.

Patrick 82%
On the nose, wet grass with touch of fruit, all bathed in cereals. A bowl of sweet cereals in which fruit was steeped but removed from the bowl before tasting. The final is rather short. Its provenance strikes the imagination, but its taste will not remain in your memory. 2e tasting 85% Nose: Metallic / indstrial malt. The kind of smell that is expected to be close to a distillery of the former Eastern Bloc. Palate: Malt very sweet, but really sweet! The whole is accompanied by grassy and floral notes, to the point of having the impression to be lying in a field. Final: Relatively short and always marked by cereals, herbs and flowers. Balance: Definitely better than the nose foreshadowed. Having been produced by a communist regime, my expectations were very low. A great surprise.

Martin 80%
Immensely pale, like a full moon night on Berlin. Nose: Pear, kiwi, vanilla, grass. A wind of nectarine and fruit punch stifles almost everything else. A little bit of dust and wood. Caramel and orange. Palate: Orange, caramel, cinnamon, cane sugar. Definitely the most enjoyable moment of this dram. Finale: Citrus background eclipsed by a foreign exchange handle. Much too metallic for my taste. Balance: Unfortunately not enough in my palette. Beautiful piece of history, but nothing more.

English EN Français FR

Hammer Head 21 ans Czech Vintage Single Cask

40.7% alc./vol.
Hammer Head est un Single malt Tchèque produit en 1989, juste avant la chute du mur de Berlin, qui a changé à jamais le visage de l’Europe. Élaboré dans la distillerie Pradlo située à l’ouest de la Tchécoslovaquie, Hammer Head est l’unique single malt produit en Bohème. Découvert par accident il y a tout juste un an par ses nouveaux propriétaires, il a été conçu à l’époque à partir d’une orge locale et a vieilli exclusivement dans des fûts de chêne tchèques.

André 82%
Bois franc blanc, vanille, cerises et poires. La bouche est très herbeuse; sac de tondeuse bien rempli de pelouse fraichement coupée. Après avoir respiré ce sont plus les épices et le miel bon marché qui se présentent en bouche. Le bois reprend sa place en finale, rendant le tout très rectiligne et unidimensionnel. Élaboré dans un temps trouble dans les pays de l’est, avec probablement des moyens limités, un embouteillage étonnant et historique.

RV 80.5%
Un dessert qui manque à peine de caractère mais qui compense par l’excès. Bourbon un peu vinaigré et feuilles mortes au nez, avec une cerise peu présente à l’ouverture mais qui s’exprime fortement une fois arrivée, accompagnée d’une vanille artificielle. En bouche c’est encore sucré, presque trop, avec une texture visqueuse mais une bonne attaque d’alcool. La finale est elle aussi trop sucrée mais se conclue de manière convenable. Malheureusement, l’aftertaste souffre du même problème de sirop trop fort, ce qui rend l’expérience plus ou moins agréable.

Patrick 82%
Au nez, herbe mouillée avec touche de fruits, le tout baignant dans les céréales. Bol de céréales sucrées dans le quel on a fait tremper des fruits, mais qui ont été retirés du bol avant la dégustation. La finale est plutôt courte. Sa provenance frappe l’imagination, mais son goût ne vous restera pas en mémoire. 2e tasting 85% Nez : Malt métallique/indstriel. Le genre d’odeur que l’on s’attend à sentir proche d’une distillerie de l’ancien Bloc de l’Est. Bouche : Malt très sucré, mais vraiment très sucré! Le tout est accompagné de notes herbeuses et florales, au point d’avoir l’impression d’être couché dans un champ. Finale : Relativement courte et toujours marqué par les céréales, les herbes et les fleurs. Balance : Définitivement meilleur que ce que le nez laissait présager. Ayant été produit par un régime communiste, mes attentes étaient très basses. Une belle surprise.

Martin 80%
Immensément pâle, comme un soir de pleine lune sur Berlin. Nez: Poire, kiwi, vanille, herbe. Un vent de nectarine et de punch aux fruits étouffe presque le reste. Un tout petit peu de poussière et de bois. Caramel et orange. Bouche: Orange, caramel, cannelle, sucre de canne. Définitivement le moment le plus agréable de ce dram. Finale: Fond d’agrumes éclipsé par une poignée de change. Beaucoup trop métallique à mon goût. Équilibre: Malheureusement pas assez dans ma palette. Belle pièce d’histoire, mais sans plus.

English EN Français FR