Special Courier Whiskey

42.8% alc./vol.
Bhutan. Bought for 8 $ in a shop on the side of a road.

André 87.5%
Ashen, caramel, fruit salad predominantly oranges. The palate is as fruity as the nose suggests but is also spicy despite a slight rough on a slightly platonic texture. The finish is heavily orange and a little smoke. Could look like a smoked and ash Balvenie. A value for money to make many Scottish whiskeys blush.

RV 84.5%
Trout not freshly caught and cigarette ash mixed with some branches of fennel. The finish is deeply spicy and pungent as if it were a cask strength, with a rusty metal base and barrel of metal in which a campfire is made. Like the blends, the final falls a bit too steep but despite its somewhat crooked nose, in the peasant style unpretentious at the limit of harshness, I like, especially for a bottle that could pass as negligible .

Patrick 85%
Salt on the nose and light spices. On the palate spices take the place, if not a touch of metal that does not bother me too much for once. Final rather short, but still nice, which allows the salt to come back. A nice surprise considering that I had no waiting ... Or rather, I expected to be very disappointed!

English EN Français FR

Special Courier Whisky

42.8% alc./vol.
Bhoutan. Acheté pour 8$ dans une shop sur le bord d’une route.

André 87.5%
Cendré, caramel, salade de fruits à prédominance d’oranges. La bouche est aussi fruité que le nez le laissait présager mais est aussi épicé malgré un léger rêche sur une texture un peu platonique. La finale est fortement orangée et un peu fumée. Pourrait ressembler à un Balvenie fumé et cendré. Un rapport qualité-prix à faire rougir bien des whiskies écossais.

RV 84.5%
Truite pas fraichement pêchée et cendre de cigarette mélangées avec quelques branches de fenouil. L’arrivée est profondément épicée et piquante comme s’il s’agissait d’un cask strength, avec une base de terre et de baril de métal tout rouillé dans lequel on fait un feu de camp. À l’image des blends, la finale tombe un peu trop à pic mais malgré son nez un peu croche, dans le style paysanne sans prétention à la limite de la rudesse, j’aime bien, spécialement pour une bouteille qui pourrait passer comme négligeable.

Patrick 85%
Salin au nez et légères épices. En bouche les épices prennent toute la place, si ce n’est une petite touche de métal qui ne me dérange pas trop pour une fois. Finale plutôt courte, mais quand même agréable, qui permet au sel de revenir. Une belle surprise compte tenu que je n’avais aucune attente… Ou plutôt si, je m’attendais à être très déçu !

English EN Français FR