Belgian Owl 36 months • Batch LC836081

46% alc./vol.
Bottling LC836081

Patrick 80%
A promising whiskey, but still too young. And definitely way too expensive. Nose: Sweet and vanilla scent, with a little fruity touch. The set is fresh, light and looks pretty young. Mouth: Oh boy, the new make is not far. Green apples, cinnamon, pears and wood spices. Or in fact, plainly of the wooden board. Finish: Medium length, marked by wood spices and alcohol.

Gouden Carolus Single Malt

46% alc./vol.
Molenberg Distillery. Gouden Carolus Single Malt is a Belgian whiskey, distilled from the must of Gouden Carolus Tripel beer. A first for Belgium are the hand-hammered copper distillation vats, in which the must - composed only of malted barley - is distilled. The distillate is then aged in first filling bourbon casks for a period of 30 months followed by a successive period of 6 months in 'Anker' barrels (oak barrels reworked by a cooper according to our own speci fi cations). From 1637 to 1927, the "miller family" Van Breedam operated a small distillery at Molenberg in Blaasveld. In 1872, Louis Van Breedam and his sister Anne leave Molenberg to become brewers in Mechelen. The Molenberg remains in the hands of the family and the tradition continues. Charles Leclef, fifth generation of the Van Breedam family, spent his childhood in the brewery in Mechelen, but also knows the Molenberg in Blaasveld, where his uncle Michel Van Breedam lives. While he is modernizing the brewery in 1990, the idea of ​​distilling whiskey beer matures in his mind. He wants to distill at Molenberg: distillate beer, that is whiskey. This distillery becomes the perfect combination between the two family traditions: brew and distill.

André 84%
Beautiful blend of vanilla pears, apricot, light charred barrel, beautiful round and plump vanile, honey, almonds, graham crackers. The nose is attractive is well presented, without being unique or pretentious. The palate is fruity, round and pulpy, lots of pears and vanilla sprinkled with ginger and pepper. The cereal notes are prominently without monopolizing the mouth. Appears then green apples, then cherries, but spices quickly regain ground. The finish is in two stages, sweet on the fruits and raised on the spices. Beautiful retro-olfaction of fleshed fruits. Nice and easy to drink.

Belgian Owl Private Limited Edition 36 months old Single Cask

70.3% alc./vol.
036 / 200, bottle #220. First Belgian Owl distilled with the legendary Caperdonich stills straight from Scotland. The 200 Private Angels - Exclusive Series of 200 Barrels. Etienne Bouillon, passionate distiller, initiator of the project, filled the first barrel of the future Belgian Single Malt Whiskey, the 29 October 2004. The first sales took place in December 2004 through an online sale supported by the Belgian daily newspaper via a full advertising page.

André 91%
With a monotonous and ennyeux climate, wet at wish and could bring Miss Méteo to the nervous breakdown, how could one think that a whiskey would gain about 8% of alcoholic degree in 36 months ??? Singular climate of the region or dry relative warehouses, but more than 70% alcohol for a whiskey, say that this is definitely out of the ordinary. Gift of the owner and distiller Étienne Bouillon, this whiskey has as much generosity as its owner. Micro-distillery approach and very "grain to bottle", the nose is muscular and alcoholic steroids. It is definitely necessary to ignore the high alcohol level that grips your nose ferociously. Initially, cereals and agricultural twist and small batch, pears, caramel, meringue and lemon pie, hot honey. Without dilution, I admit that it moves a lot, so I add some tears of water. Pears, almonds, crème brûlée, churned butter (no salt), green apple, cereals. The contribution of the oak barrel is important but the spirit still managed to keep its unique backbone. The whiskey develops luscious notes of spice on the palate while the alcohol keeps the note with the same conviction as the singer Bianca Castafiore draped in her cloth of cinnamon and ginger. The quality of the distillate and the choice of barrels is obviously (and gustantly) fair, the result is an experience in itself. Fasten your belts because when the foot will press on the accelerator, you will be entitled to a whole trip ...

Patrick 88%
With such a high alcohol level, one can not be surprised at such an intensity. Definitely not a whiskey everyday but really triumphant to taste! Nose: Delicious scent of sweet and slightly fruity cereals, all with a touch of meringue. Palate: Of a rare intensity, with citrus fruits, nuts, some wood, green apples, oak and a lot of spices. Final: A little dry, spicy, woody and marked by cereals.

Belgian Owl 48 months

46% alc./vol.
Batch # 14-02-11.

Andre
Much more supple in the mouth; both rounded and also very assertive. Mouth of caramel and vanilla, pear, apricot and white chocolate. Final transits on crème brûlée, caramel and vanilla yogurt. The final is more sustained than in the other versions. We are getting closer to a whole lot more complete.

Patrick 78%
Nose: Cherry of earth, feels the not-clean of day after torrid eve and fresh leaves. Palate: Mint, cereals and citrus juice. Finale: Leafy and minty. Balance: Not really.

Belgian Owl 60 months

76.1% alc./vol.
Drum #4276140.

André 91%
Owly cow! For those who sound the knell and who the owl howls ... The nose surprises by its softness and its delicacy, the flavors going in the same direction. There is nothing raw or sturdy; Furry pears, vanilla, a light grass bottom but nothing that really disturbs. One is able to feel the latent power of alcohol that one could also easily confuse with spices as the nose is abrupt if it is plunged directly into the glass. In the mouth, once the shock of alcohol faded; pineapple, pears, lots of vanilla, oranges / nectarines, honey. The finish is long, like a whiskey with such a level of alcohol can be, a little more spicy but counterbalanced by the significant contribution of vanilla and sweet fruity flavors. A breathtaking takeoff and a long, gliding descent. Ideal to realign Chakras at the end of a difficult day.

RV 90%
When the slight lack of originality comes from a new distillery probably still busy tweaking his art is that it's going pretty well thank you. Very honeyed, the nose contains a hint of wheat that sticks to the palate. In the mouth, the alcohol is hot without being hot; cask strength surely but we would think the rate much lower. With notes of leather and caramel Grenache Spread, even if raisins and flakes of oatmeal still in the small envelope. Very good, Belgium is not only talented for pastry, it is also good for breakfast whiskeys. Patrick 90% Salad with mixed fruit and spices. On the palate, vanilla, spices and a little bit of cherries and raisins. Beautiful finish with notes of wheat that stretch for a long time. Complex and very pleasant to drink. You do not smell alcohol at all, or you'd think you're dealing with 4t-50%: I'll take another glass, bigger, preferably.

Patrick 90%
Salad with mixed fruit and spices. On the palate, vanilla, spices and a little bit of cherries and raisins. Beautiful finish with notes of wheat that stretch for a long time. Complex and very pleasant to drink. You do not smell alcohol at all, or you'd think you're dealing with 4t-50%: I'll take another glass, bigger, preferably.

Belgian Owl 53 months

74.2% alc./vol.
Drum # 427-29-86.

Andre
Nose of crème brûlée, of caramel pushed by a tidal wave of perfumed alcohol. With a little water, we will be able to appreciate the sweetness of the vanilla brought by the barrel, the cereals. The influence of the drum is notorious. The grapes appear in the mouth, paired with toffee and crème brûlée. Nice fruity presence of nectarines and tangerines. Surprisingly woody finish with a return on hazelnuts. It is essential to experience taking it at the beginning without the addition of water, to enjoy the experience. Rarely we will have had the opportunity to take a whiskey at this percentage of alcohol and the experience is quite unique. After taking a short break (to recover from your shock), I recommend you dilute it slightly to lower the alcohol level, which will release the aromas and make the whole more "approachable".

Belgian Owl 36 months

46% alc./vol.
Batch # 23-11-10.

Andre
Pressed green grapes, Granny Smith green apples, cinnamon and honey accent. The mouth confirms the nose; apples and pears are present but the whole approaches more of a mead than a whiskey. Finale vanilla and sugar, honeyed notes of Wherther's candies.

Belgian Owl 24 months

46% alc./vol.
Drum # 427-29-77, bottled on 25 February 2010.

Andre
It's more citrus fruits that set the table for this 24 month expression. A tear of lemon, meringue cream, rose water and cinnamon. A nice mixture where each element finds its place. The mouth is also more faithful to the nose; a nice creamy sensation affirming by notes of vanilla and honey. The finish is a well presented dessert of pan-fried pears, with vanilla, honey and banana pieces.

Belgian Owl 8 months

46% alc./vol.
Drum # 407-87-31.

Andre
More supported and complete. The alcohol begins to take a secondary role, eclipsed by the work and influences of the drum. Always malty and accompanied by pears, vanilla and butter. The palate is creamy and sweet, the pears are now sprinkled with cinnamon continuing in the final on vanilla notes from which emerge a very heady floral wave of beautiful sweetness. The evolution experienced by the whole while staying only 8 months in the barrel is impressive. A child with a certain potential but always lacking a little maturity to find his direction.

Belgian Owl New Make Spirit

46% alc./vol.
It was in 2004 that the dream of 3 partners, the distiller Étienne Bouillon, the farmer Pierre Roberti and the financier Luc Foubert, materialized. From humble beginnings for this micro-distillery located in the region of Hesbay in Belgium, but driven by an energy and a determination without border. Using an old Swiss alembic of the 19eme century and products of the local soil, the philosophy of Bouillon is very close to the strong principles to Jim McEwan of Bruichladdich ... Quality products, a respect of the soil and people who contribute to the creation of a whiskey.

Andre
To be considered a new make. Very cereal, with hints of pear and butter. Ethereal nose, accents of cold butter, dried fruits and cinnamon. Finale very pleasant to the taste of sweets and caramel, waves of dry cereals and orange. A balanced product of great finesse, purity and a pleasant maturity for a new make spirit.

English EN Français FR

Belgian Owl 36 mois • Batch LC836081

46% alc./vol.
Bottling LC836081

Patrick 80%
Un whisky prometteur, mais encore trop jeune. Et définitivement beaucoup trop cher. Nez : Parfum sucré et vanillé, avec une petite touche fruitée. L’ensemble est frais, léger et semble assez jeune. Bouche : Oh boy, le new make est pas loin. Pommes vertes, cannelle, poires et épices du bois. Ou en fait, carrément de la planche de bois. Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, marquée par les épices du bois et l’alcool.

Gouden Carolus Single Malt

46% alc./vol.
Distillerie Molenberg. Gouden Carolus Single Malt est un whisky Belge, distillé à partir du moût de la bière Gouden Carolus Tripel. Une primeur pour la Belgique sont les cuves de distillation en cuivre martelées à la main, dans lesquelles le moût – composé uniquement d’orge maltée – est distillé. Le distillat est par la suite vieilli dans des fûts de bourbon de premier remplissage pour une période de 30 mois suivie par une période successive de 6 mois dans des fûts ‘Anker’ (des fûts en chêne retravaillés par un tonnelier selon nos propres spécifications). De 1637 à 1927, la « famille de meuniers” Van Breedam a exploité une petite distillerie au Molenberg à Blaasveld. En 1872, Louis Van Breedam et sa soeur Anne quittent le Molenberg pour devenir brasseurs à Malines. Le Molenberg reste aux mains de la famille et la tradition se perpétue. Charles Leclef, cinquième génération de la famille Van Breedam, passe son enfance dans la brasserie à Malines, mais connaît aussi le Molenberg à Blaasveld, où son oncle Michel Van Breedam habite. Alors qu’il est train de moderniser la brasserie en 1990, l’idée de distiller la bière en whisky mûrit dans son esprit. Il veut distiller au Molenberg : de la bière au distillat, c’est-à-dire au whisky. Cette distillerie devient la combinaison parfaite entre les deux traditions de famille: brasser et distiller.

André 84%
Beau mélange de poires vanillées, abricot, léger carbonisé du fût, belle vanile ronde et dodue, miel, amandes, biscuits Graham. Le nez est attrayant est bien présenté, sans être unique ou prétencieux. La bouche est fruitée, ronde et pulpeuse, beaucoup de poires et de vanille saupoudrée de gingembre et de poivre. Les notes de céréales sont bien en évidence sans monopoliser la bouche. Apparaissent ensuite les pommes vertes, puis des cerises, mais les épices regachent rapidement du terrain. La finale est en deux temps, douces sur les fruits et relevée sur les épices. Belle rétro-olfaction de fruits à chair. Agréable et facile à boire.

Belgian Owl The Private Angels Limited Edition 36 months old Single Cask

70.3% alc./vol.
036/200, bouteille #220. Premier Belgian Owl distillé avec les mythiques alambics Caperdonich venus tout droit d’Ecosse. The 200 Private Angels – Série exclusive de 200 fûts. Etienne Bouillon, ce distillateur passionné, initiateur du projet, a rempli le premier fût du futur Belgian Single Malt Whisky, le 29 octobre 2004. Les premières ventes ont eu lieu dès décembre 2004 par le biais d’une vente online soutenue par la presse quotidienne écrite belge via une pleine page publicitaire.


André 91%
Avec un climat monotone et ennyeux, humide à souhait et pouvant amener Miss Méteo à la dépression nerveuse, comment aurait-on pu penser qu’un whisky gagnerait environ 8% de degré alcoolique en 36 mois??? Climat singulier de la région ou entrepôts relativements secs, mais plus de 70% d’alcool pour un whisky, disons que cela est définitivement hors-norme. Cadeau du proprio et distillateur Étienne Bouillon, ce whisky a autant de générosité que son propriétaire. Approche micro-distillery et très ‘’du grain à la bouteille’’, le nez est musclé et sur les stéroïdes alcoolisées. Il faut définitivement faire abstraction de l’important taux d’alcool qui vous agrippe le nez férocement. Au départ, les céréales et le twist agricole et small batch, les poires, le caramel, la meringue et la tarte au citron, le miel chaud. Sans dilution, j’avoues que ça déménage pas mal, alors j’ajoute quelques larmes d’eau. Poires, amandes, crème brûlée, beurre baratté (sans sel), la pomme verte, les céréales. L’apport du fût de chêne est important mais le spiritueux a tout de même su garder son épine dorsale unique. Le whisky développe de pulpeuses notes d’épices en finale de bouche pendant que l’alcool tient la note avec la même conviction que la cantatrice Bianca Castafiore drapée dans son étoffe de canelle et de gingembre. La qualité du distillat et le choix des fûts est visiblement (et gustativement) juste, le résultat est une expérience en soi. Attachez vos ceintures car lorsque que le pied appuiera sur l’accélérateur, vous aurez droit à toute une virée…

Patrick 88%
Avec un tel taux d’alcool, on ne peut pas se surprendre d’une telle intensité. Définitivement pas un whisky de tous les jours mais vraiment trippant à déguster! Nez : Savoureux parfum de céréales sucrées et légèrement fruitées, le tout avec une touche de meringue. Bouche : D’une rare intensité, avec des agrumes, des noix, un peu de bois, des pommes vertes, du chêne et énormément d’épices. Finale : Un peu sèche, épicée, boisée et marquée par les céréales.

Belgian Owl 48 mois

46% alc./vol.
Batch #14-02-11.

André
Beaucoup plus souple en bouche; à la fois arrondi et aussi très affirmé. Bouche de caramel et de vanille, de poires, d’abricot et de chocolat blanc. Finale transite sur la crème brûlée, le caramel et le yaourt à la vanille. La finale est plus soutenue que dans les autres versions. Nous nous approchons d’un ensemble pas mal plus complet.

Patrick 78%
Nez: Cerise de terre, sent le pas-propre de lendemain de veille torride et de feuilles fraîches.  Bouche: Menthe, céréales et jus d’agrumes.  Finale:  Feuillue et mentholée.  Balance: Pas vraiment.

Belgian Owl 60 mois

76.1% alc./vol.
Fût #4276140.

André 91%
Owly cow ! Pour qui sonne le glas et pour qui hurle le hibou… Le nez étonne de par sa douceur et sa délicatesse, les saveurs allant dans le même sens. On n’y retrouve rien de brut ou de costaud; poires poilées, vanille, un léger fond d’herbe mais rien qui dérange vraiment. On est à même de ressentir la puissance latente de l’alcool que l’on pourrait aussi aisément confondre avec des épices tant le nez est brusqué si il est plongé directement dans le verre. En bouche, une fois le choc de l’alcool estompé; ananas, poires, beaucoup de vanille, oranges/nectarines, miel. La finale est longue, comme un whisky avec un tel taux d’alcool peut l’être, un peu plus épicé mais contre balancé par l’apport important de vanille et des douces saveurs fruitées. Un décollage décoiffant et une longue descente planante. Idéal pour réaligner ses Chakras à la fin d’une difficile journée.

RV 90%
Quand le léger manque d’originalité vient d’une nouvelle distillerie probablement encore occupée à peaufiner son art, c’est que ça va assez bien merci. Très mielleux, le nez contient une pointe de blé qui colle au palais. En bouche, l’alcool est chaud sans être brûlant; cask strength sûrement mais on penserait le taux beaucoup plus bas. Avec des notes de cuir et de caramel Grenache à tartiner, ne serait-ce des raisins secs et des flocons de gruau encore dans la petite enveloppe. Très bon, la Belgique n’est pas que doué pour les pâtisserie, elle l’est aussi pour les whiskies de déjeuner. Patrick 90% Salade de fruit trop mixé et d’épices. En bouche, vanille, épices et un petit peu de cerises et de raisins secs. Belle finale avec des notes de blé qui s’étirent longuement. Complexe et très agréable à boire. On sent pas du tout l’alcool, ou en fait on jurerait avoir affaire à un taux de 4t-50%: J’en reprendrais un autre verre, plus gros de préférence.

Patrick 90%
Salade de fruits trop mixés et d’épices. En bouche, vanille, épices et un petit peu de cerises et de raisins secs. Belle finale avec des notes de blé qui s’étirent longuement. Complexe et très agréable à boire. On sent pas du tout l’alcool, ou en fait on jurerait avoir affaire à un taux de 4t-50%: J’en reprendrais un autre verre, plus gros de préférence.

Belgian Owl 53 mois

74.2% alc./vol.
Fût #427-29-86.

André
Nez de crème brûlée, de caramel poussé par un raz-de-marée d’alcool parfumé. Avec un peu d’eau, nous serons à même d’apprécier la douceur de la vanille apportée par le fût, les céréales. L’influence du fût est notoire. Les raisins apparaissent en bouche, jumelé au toffee et de la crème brûlée. Belle présence fruitée de nectarines et de tangerines. Finale étonnamment boisée avec un retour sur les noisettes. Il vous faut absolument faire l’expérience de le prendre au départ sans l’ajout d’eau, question de profiter de l’expérience. Rarement nous aurons eu l’occasion de prendre un whisky à ce pourcentage d’alcool et l’expérience est assez unique. Après avoir pris une petite pause (pour vous remettre de votre choc), je vous recommande de le diluer légèrement afin d’en abaisser le niveau d’alcool, ce qui en libèrera les arômes et rendra l’ensemble plus « approchable ».

English EN Français FR