English Whiskey Co, Chapter 14

46% alc./vol.
5 age old whiskey, unpeated, sourced from bourbon barrels #582 to 585.

André 83.5%
On the bourbon cask, no doubts. Fruit salad, oranges, beautiful sweet presentation, green grapes, vanilla, bananas. Without being unpleasant, the presentation may be a bit monotonous and predictable. Pear in the mouth, then vanilla and grapes to pineapple, tropical fruits. Backbone of cereals and bourbon cask with a contribution of tropical fruits really interesting. Long finish, spicy, peppery, fruity where the whiskey's youth is more evident. A bit dashing in the final and also lacking in delicacy.

Cotswolds 2014 Odyssey Barley

46% alc./vol.
Batch No 01 / 2018, 7150 bottles. The first single malt to be made in the beautiful Cotswolds in the heart of the English countryside, Cotswolds Single Malt Whiskey is made from 100% local barley. This whiskey comes from a long fermentation then a double distillation in still pot stills named Mary and Janis, before maturing in American oak barrels and red wine.

André 85%
Cereals bathed in citrus fruits, apricots and beautiful fresh pear, oranges. The nose and mouth are creamy, the cereal intake well presented and it is quickly understood that the selection of cereal is very well chosen. Beautiful roundness in the mouth, the same flavors fervently rush, supported by strong spicy notes and small red fruits. The oranges stand out in the foreground and blend nicely with pear and apricot notes. The finish is on red fruits and orange jam. An unpretentious whiskey, very nice and really well designed.

Patrick 88%
My expectations of the first editions of micro-distilleries are still quite low. Here, however, we can afford to raise expectations without risking disappointment. A superb whiskey, which should be excellent soon. Nose: Fragrance of a beautiful young malt marked by peat smoke, a little grassy, ​​subtle fruits and honey. Palate: Smoke of peat, intense spices, Seville orange, brown sugar, malt and burnt wood. Finale: Of a beautiful length, smoke and spicy.

St George's Distillery - The English Smokey

43% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
A very good whiskey, which would probably be excellent except that it was a little too diluted. Nose: Smoke of peat, citrus, vanilla and a touch of fresh wood. Palate: As the nose suggests, with a touch of spice and pepper. In terms of texture, the whiskey seems unfortunately a little too watery, probably because of too much dilution. Too bad, otherwise it would be excellent! Finish: Medium length, smoked and spicy.

The English Whiskey Co. 11 Heavily Peated

59.7% alc./vol.
April 2010 - July 2013, 204, 206, 209 & 210 Drums, 83 96 Bottle

André 89.5%
Intense peat, dirty and muddy, chimney soot, in the style Laphroaig but with much more ardor and a little awkwardness. Green apple and citrus, vanilla and lots of peat smoke. May look like the Cask Quarter Quarter Cask Strength. The mouth is relatively soft on the finish, not very discrete, however, based on green peat and a fruity background of citrus fruits and oranges. Whiskey offers an interesting sweet side, vanilla is also present and hides a bit of the harshness of alcohol and this whiskey a little young and impulsive. The finish is a little short and lively, the alcohol hiding a little more discreet flavors. But on a cold and snowy day in February, we have here a very appropriate whiskey.

Patrick 89%
Intense, tasty and, if not really complex, very tasty and very well balanced. Nose: "Yellow" peat coated with extremely intense smoke. Palate: Oily texture. Intense liquid smoke, covering the peat and a hint of spicy and peppery barley. Finish: Long and tasty, marked by peat smoke and spices.

Martin 88%
Another young malt, by his livid pallor. Nose: Peat smoke rather assertive and fieffée, which does not leave too much the rest of the flavors to express themselves. Palate: Honey and fruity and spicy sugar full mouth. Nice fire of spices long awaited of this cask strength . Smoked peat here takes the back seat. Final: A little short but very pleasant, marked by spices and a return of smoke. Balance: Already an excellent whiskey, but which is likely to be even better to drink in cold weather.

English Whiskey Co. Chapter 6

46% alc./vol.
Batch #3 unpeated, distilled in February 2007, bottled in February 2010 from drums # 001-011.

André 83%
Frank nose, direct and unequivocal; a young whiskey a little fiery. I poured it in my glass and waited a good 10 minutes before returning. I thought I had to make another single malt ... The fruits exploded, the vanilla of the barrel appeared, the almonds and a background of cereals, wood and green grass. One-dimensional in the mouth, vanilla is powerful, the various fruits also (banana and pears), without departing from a slightly grassy and green accent. The texture is a little clear but the flavors are strong and a nice amalgam. Final dry wood paired with a hint of spice. A whiskey that is certainly not mature but offers a nice tasting challenge.

Patrick 87%
Nose: Yummy !! Sweet fruity sugar with a hint of barley. Really appetizing. Mouth: Always sweet sweet fruits, with the tip of barley, but also notes of barley that come to offer a nice complexity to the whole. Final: Of a good length, but rather marked by the alcohol. Libra: Makes me think of a young Glenmorangie, which is definitely a compliment in my case. Another whiskey that I can not wait to see in a decade.

Martin 83.5%
Very young and could not be more pale. Nose: We start unsuspectingly in the young molasses, but the malt brings us easily under the auspices of vanilla and fruit. After a light leather background, we can safely leave him a little time to open so that a nice grilled malt appears. Palate: Always light, but fruit and vanilla form a strong and sweet foundation on which the influence of the barrel can build. The new make fades to give a nice place to roasted cereals and almonds. Final: A good length, spices blend in a return of the new make. Balance: Again a lack of finesse and experience, but a great effort that promises!

English Whiskey Co. Chapter 4 Peated Single Malt Spirit

46% alc./vol.
Drum #516. Distilled November 1er 2007 and bottled August 11 2009. Limited edition to 2500 bottles. Bottled on barrel, St George comes from an ex bourbon cask of first filling distilled in February 2007 under the leadership of Iain Henderson, formerly "Mr. Laphroaig". In December 2006, for the first time, the first "New Spirit" of St George distillery's stills was released. Built in Norfolk in the heart of a region renowned for the quality of its barley, St George is to this day the only malt distillery in England. It draws its water from an underground source that flows under the distillery itself. St George produces a peaty, unpeated malt. Near 13 barrels are filled every week. This edition is aged for a period of 18 months in American oak bourbon barrels from the Jim Beam Distillery.

André 89%
Young yellow peat, quite sweet (probably brought by the first filling drum), animal hair and medicinal and of course peaty, very singular way also supported by notes of hazelnut (RV I approve) and oranges. Surprising, but still it should be considered in its own category of "not yet whiskeys", but a nice stop on the path of discovery in the vast world of scotch whiskeys.

Patrick 85%
On the nose, a young and animal peat. Surprising nutty touch. In the mouth, the first impression is that of "new make", quickly carried away by the intensity of the peat. A hint of sweet fruit comes to give a pleasant extra dimension. Everything evolves on hay, algae and of course smoke. Overall, a wealth of fantastic flavor, but this whiskey definitely lacks aging. Could be in my top 5 in a few years, but he will have to eat his crusts by then. Still, it is a beautiful discovery and an interesting piece to have in his collection.

English EN Français FR

Cotswolds 2014 Odyssey Barley

46% alc./vol.
Batch No 01/2018, 7150 bouteilles. Premier single malt à être fabriqué dans la magnifique région de Cotswolds au cœur de la campagne anglaise, Cotswolds Single Malt Whisky est constitué de 100% d’orge local. Ce whisky est issu d’une longue fermentation puis d’une double distillation dans des alambics pot still nommés Mary et Janis, avant d’effectuer une maturation en fûts de chêne américain et de vin rouge.

André 85%
Céréales baignant dans les agrumes citronnés, les abricots et la belle poire bien fraiche, oranges. Le nez et la bouche sont onctueux, l’apport des céréales bien présenté et on comprend rapidement que la sélection de céréale est très bien choisie. Belle rondeur en bouche, les mêmes saveurs senties s’élancent avec ferveur, appuyé par des solides notes épicées et de petits fruits rouges. Les oranges ressortent en avant-plan et se mélangent agréablement avec les notes de poires et d’abricots. La finale est sur les fruits rouges et la confiture d’oranges. Un whisky sans prétention, très agréable et vraiment bien conçu.

Patrick 88%
Mes attentes envers les premières éditions des micro-distilleries sont toujours assez basses. Ici toutefois, on peut se permettre de relever les attentes sans risquer d’être déçu. Un superbe whisky, qui devrait être bientôt excellent. Nez : Parfum d’un beau malt jeune marqué par la fumée de tourbe, un peu herbeuse, des fruits subtils et du miel. Bouche : Fumée de tourbe, épices intenses, orange de Séville, cassonade, malt et bois brûlé. Finale : D’une belle longueur, fumée et épicée.

St George’s Distillery – The English Smokey

43% alc./vol.

Patrick 87%
Un très bon whisky, qui serait probablement excellent si ce n’était qu’il a été un peu trop dilué. Nez : Fumée de tourbe, agrumes, vanille et une touche de bois frais. Bouche : Telle que le nez le laissait présager, avec une touche d’épices et de poivre en plus. Au niveau de la texture, le whisky semble malheureusement un peu trop aqueux, probablement à cause d’une trop grande dilution. Dommage, sinon ça serait excellent! Finale : D’une longueur moyenne, fumée et épicée.

The English Whisky Co. Chapter 11 Heavily Peated

59.7% alc./vol.
Avril 2010 – Juillet 2013, fûts 204, 206, 209 & 210, bouteille 83 de 96

André 89.5%
Intense tourbe, sale et crottée, suie de cheminée, dans le style Laphroaig mais avec beaucoup plus de fougue et un peu de maladresse. Pomme verte et agrumes, vanille et beaucoup de fumée de tourbe. Peut ressembler au Quarter Cask version Cask Strength. La bouche est relativement douce en arrivée, pas très discrète par contre, axée sur la tourbe verte et un arrière-plan fruité d’agrumes et d’oranges. Le whisky offre un côté sucré intéressant, la vanille est elle aussi bien présente et cache un peu de la rudesse de l’alcool et de ce whisky un peu jeune et impulsif. La finale est un peu courte et vive, l’alcool cachant un peu les saveurs plus discrètes. Mais par une journée un peu froide et neigeuse de février, on a ici un whisky fort approprié.

Patrick 89%
Intense, savoureux et, à défaut d’être vraiment complexe, très savoureux et très bien équilibré. Nez: Tourbe “jaune” enrobée de fumée extrêmement intense. Bouche : Texture huileuse. Fumée liquide intense, qui recouvre la tourbe et une pointe d’orge épicée et poivrée. Finale : Longue et savoureuse, marquée par la fumée de tourbe et les épices.

Martin 88%
Un autre jeune malt, de par sa pâleur livide. Nez: Fumée tourbée plutôt affirmée et fieffée, qui ne laisse pas trop trop le reste des flaveurs s’exprimer. Bouche: Miel et sucre fruité et épicé plein la gueule. Beau feu roulant d’épices bien attendu de ce cask strength. La tourbe fumée prend ici le siège arrière. Finale: Un peu courte mais fort agréable, marquée par les épices et un retour de la fumée. Équilibre: Déjà un excellent whisky, mais qui risque fort d’être encore meilleur à boire par temps froid.

English Whisky Co. Chapter 6

46% alc./vol.
Batch #3 non-tourbée, distillé en février 2007, embouteillé en février 2010 à partir des fûts #001-011.

André 83%
Nez franc, direct et sans équivoque; un jeune whisky un peu fougueux. Je l’ai versé dans mon verre et j’ai attendu un bon 10 minutes avant d’y revenir. Je croyais avoir à faire à un autre single malt… Les fruits ont explosé, la vanille du fût s’est manifesté, les amandes et un fond de céréales, de bois et d’herbe verte. Unidimensionnel en bouche, la vanille est puissante, les fruits divers aussi (banane et poires), sans se départir d’un accent un peu herbeux et vert. La texture est un peu claire mais les saveurs sont soutenues et d’un bel amalgame. Finale de bois sec jumelée d’un soupçon d’épices. Un whisky qui n’est certainement pas à maturité mais qui offre un beau challenge de dégustation.

Patrick 87%
Nez : Yummy!! Doux sucre fruité avec une petite pointe d’orge. Vraiment appétissant. Bouche : Toujours les doux fruits sucrés, avec la pointe d’orge, mais aussi des notes d’orge qui viennent offrir une belle complexité à l’ensemble. Finale : D’une belle longueur, mais plutôt marquée par l’alcool. Balance : Me fait penser à un jeune Glenmorangie, ce qui est définitivement un compliment dans mon cas. Encore un autre whisky que j’ai hâte de revoir dans une dizaine d’années.

Martin 83.5%
Très jeune et on ne peut plus pâle. Nez: On se fait aspirer au départ sans surprise dans la jeune mélasse, mais le malt nous ramène aisément sous des auspices de vanille et de fruits. Passé un léger fond de cuir, on peut sans crainte lui laisser un peu de temps pour s’ouvrir afin qu’un joli malt grillé se manifeste. Bouche: Toujours léger, mais les fruits et la vanille forment une fondation solide et sucrée sur laquelle l’influence du fût peut construire. Le new make s’estompe pour laisser une belle place aux céréales grillées et aux amandes. Finale: D’une bonne longueur, des épices se fondent dans un retour du new make. Équilibre: Encore une fois un manque de finesse et d’expérience, mais un bel effort qui promet!

English Whisky Co. Chapter 4 Peated Single Malt Spirit

46% alc./vol.
Fût #516. Distillé le 1er novembre 2007 et embouteillé le 11 août 2009. Édition limitée à 2500 bouteilles. Mis en bouteille au fût par fût, St George est issu d’un ex fût de bourbon de premier remplissage distillé en février 2007 sous la houlette de Iain Henderson, anciennement « Monsieur Laphroaig ». C’est en décembre 2006 que pour la première fois s’écoulait le premier “New Spirit” des alambics de la distillerie St George. Construite dans le Norfolk au coeur d’une région réputée pour la qualité son orge, St George est à ce jour la seule distillerie de malt d’Angleterre. Elle tire son eau d’une source souterraine qui s’écoule sous la distillerie même. St George produit un malt tourbé et non tourbé. Prés de 13 fûts sont remplis chaque semaine. Cette édition est vieillie pour une période de 18 mois dans des fûts de bourbon de chêne américain de la distillerie Jim beam.

André 89%
Jeune tourbe jaune, assez sucrée (probablement apporté par le fût de premier remplissage), poils d’animal et médicinal et bien sûr tourbé, de manière fort singulière d’ailleurs appuyé par des notes de noisette (RV j’approuves) et d’oranges. Surprenant, mais encore faut-il le considérer dans sa catégorie propre des « not yet whiskies », mais un arrêt agréable sur le chemin des découverte à faire dans le vaste monde des scotchs whiskies.

Patrick 85%
Au nez, une tourbe jeune et animale. Touche de noisettes surprenante. En bouche, la première impression est celle du « new make », rapidement emportée par l’intensité de la tourbe. Un soupçon de fruits sucrés vient donner une dimension supplémentaire agréable. Le tout évolue sur le foin, les algues et évidemment la fumée. Globalement, une richesse de saveur fantastique, mais ce whisky manque définitivement de vieillissement. Pourrait se classer dans mon top 5 dans quelques années, mais il devra manger ses croûtes d’ici là. Reste que c’est une belle découverte et une pièce intéressante à avoir dans sa collection.

English EN Français FR